Posted in blog

April is for asparagus

I spent April in the kitchen. Well not entirely, but I cooked a lot, including a vegan Easter buffet for my family and lots of recipe testing. Here’s a snippet of what I ate. You might spot some homemade black-bean burgers, oil-free sweet potato fries, chocolate brownies, mushroom soup, chickpea curry, mac’n’cheese (successful!), salad, chocolate, cocktails and yes, more avocado toast. And yes, the asparagus came into season, which was very welcome indeed.

#vegan in April. Basically I ate a lot of plants.

A post shared by pam_hutch (@pam_hutch) on

It was a delicious month and I feel very settled in the vegan way now. I’m rapidly becoming a bit of a vegan whizz in the kitchen. Or at least less hapless than I once was. I’ve been making my own pizza cheese, experimenting with curry ideas and scrambling up a tofu brunches.

Do you want to know what I cooked for my family at Easter? It was mega. Slow-cooker ratatouille, tofu quiche (with roasted peppers and sun-dried tomatoes), mac’n’cheese, baked sweet potatoes, fresh salad, houmous, crudites and quinoa and black bean salad. That was followed by choc brownies (a foolproof Jamie Oliver recipe) with delicious salted caramel vice cream. I don’t think they left hungry!

It wasn’t all happy-happy-joy-joy though. No, there were clouds in the sky this April. A truckload of dodgy Canadian chickpeas caused havoc with the supermarket supplies, leading to the great Houmous Crisis of 2017. So I rolled up my sleeves and made my own, which I hadn’t done for years. Why? Hilariously, I used to think that making a whole tin of chickpeas into houmous created such a vast batch of dip that I would struggle to get through it all. That was before I was vegan. This time it barely lasted a day.

Thanks for reading. April was a quiet month, but May promises to be far more eventful!

Author:

Pamela Hutchinson is the editor of Silent London

Leave a Reply

