Posted in blog

Halfway through and hitting my vegan stride

I hit the official halfway mark – vegan meal number 47 – happily yesterday. Cauliflower curry, brown rice and mint tea in Leon, while catching up with two good friends. The weekend felt like more of a halfway mark though, and on Saturday night we treated ourselves and ate meal number 42 at Manna in Primrose Hill – a fantastic vegan restaurant I have been visiting since it was merely vegetarian. I highly recommend the cashew cheese croquettes, and the vice-cream and cookie pudding my partner had looked amazing. Just like Manna, I think I have converted to veganism for good now.

Eating out is going very well so far – on Tuesday night, meal number 30 was the vegan ramen at Shoryu in Soho.

Two bowls of vegan ramen please. Slurp! #veganuary

A post shared by pam_hutch (@pam_hutch) on

Meal number 39 was experimental, by many standards: I BBQ-sauced the tin of jackfruit I bought at Vegan Life Live last week.

Further adventures in vegan cookery – BBQ jackfruit

A post shared by pam_hutch (@pam_hutch) on

God knows what pulled pork is meant to taste like. This tasted mostly like BBQ sauce to be fair, but it was tasty. And I ate it with the last of the cashew-tahini dressing that I made to drizzle on Buddha bowls the night before (meal number 36). Neat!

For most of the meals in between, may I refer you to the image at the top of the post? Still addicted.

Vegan meal number 54 should be pretty special too – there’s a cocktail bar in east London called Pamela. Which is the best name. And it has just brought in an entirely vegan menu courtesy of Club Mexicana. So we are heading there tomorrow night with veggie/vegan pals to sample its wares. And I’ll be celebrating, cos I am so pleased I made this change. I feel better physically, and my conscience is lighter too. It’s just a small change to make, but if enough of us do it, it will make a big difference.

And in case I ever were to waver, I have been collecting some alternative Veganuary motivation to keep me on track.

choc

  • Vegan chocolate – so good.
  • Despite the above, I’ve lost a few pounds, all of which needed shifting, and there are more where they came from.
  • Watching footage of 19th-century livestock auctions as part of my job.
  • Watching vegan documentaries on Netflix in my lunchbreak. Yikes.
  • I’ve booked a trip to the US and I want to save some pennies to offset the cost.
  • I’ve booked a trip to the US and I want to reduce my carbon footprint to offset the cost to the environment.
  • You can’t really argue with this statistic. For those of us who have a choice, eating meat really is unsustainable. And with meat, goes everything else …

vegan.png

Author:

Pamela Hutchinson is the editor of Silent London

Leave a Reply

