Posted in blog

Veganuary balance sheet

Once I start Veganuary, there are a few things I am going to be giving up. I’ll be gaining some new habits too. So I thought I would write them down to see how they balance out.

Giving up

  • Cheeseboards.
  • Indian takeaways (ghee).
  • Saturday morning scrambled eggs.
  • Salmon risotto.
  • Cauldron vegetarian sausages – they’ve got ruddy milk in them. And my favourite veggie tinned soups have honey in them.
  • Milk in my tea (and occasionally coffee).
  • Eating out so much, I think.
  • A dress size – you never know!

For lunch, a delicious obstacle course

A post shared by pam_hutch (@pam_hutch) on

Cheese party

A post shared by pam_hutch (@pam_hutch) on

Guess I am a real #e17 freelancer now

A post shared by pam_hutch (@pam_hutch) on

Picking up

  • A feeling of ease and wellbeing – I love the idea of a cruelty-free diet.
  • Reading labels – it seems like I’ll be doing a lot of that.
  • Learning how to make tofu scramble and almond butter.
  • Experimenting with alterna-milks (or drinking a lot of green tea) and fake cheese.
  • Even more guilt about food miles – all those avocados.
  • A thick skin when people make those tired vegan jokes.
  • Becoming a regular at my local vegan cafe.
  • Possible Marmite addiction.

Delicious vegetarian lunch at @hornbeamcafe on a plate celebrating the great year of 1987

A post shared by pam_hutch (@pam_hutch) on

Popping Padron peppers in Madrid

A post shared by pam_hutch (@pam_hutch) on

23 signs you work for the Gdn

A post shared by pam_hutch (@pam_hutch) on

 

Author:

Pamela Hutchinson is the editor of Silent London

Leave a Reply

